Just because you can afford a motorcycle doesn’t mean you can drive one. Just like you need a driver’s license to drive a car, you need a motorcycle license to ride a motorcycle in Boynton Beach. Every state has special rules when it comes to getting your motorcycle license. Florida is no different.
Now, it’s not as difficult to get a motorcycle license as it is a driver’s license. The test is easier. But this is only because most people applying for a license already knows how to drive. It’s not like you’re a 16-year old kid looking to get his learner’s permit.
The problem is, if you don’t get your license, you aren’t supposed to drive a motorcycle. If you get into an accident without your license, you can be in a lot of trouble.
If this does happen to you, rest assured – you can still file a claim for your injuries with the help of a Boynton Beach motorcycle accident attorney. However, you’ll also be cited for driving without a license. The defendant will also argue that you caused the accident because you weren’t properly trained to drive your motorcycle.
How Do You Get a Motorcycle License in Florida?
In order to get your motorcycle license, you have to do a few things. If you don’t take the necessary steps to get your license, you can’t drive a motorcycle in Florida.
In order to get your license to ride a motorcycle, you need to take the following steps:
- Apply for your learner’s permit
- Take the regular test for a driver’s license in Florida
- Pass the written test for a motorcycle license
- Pass the basic rider’s course
- Pay the endorsement fees
The difference between a license and driver’s license comes down to the practical test. To get your driver’s license, you have to pass an actual driving test. This test takes place on the road with a proctor riding along to grade you.
For your motorcycle license, you just have to pass a course. If you get the certificate for the course, the DMV assumes you know what you’re doing. So, you don’t even have to pass an on-the-road test. Just meet all the above requirements and you should be fine.
If you don’t, and you’re caught driving a motorcycle in Boynton Beach, you’ll face certain consequences.
Consequences for Driving a Motorcycle Without a License
If you get caught driving a motorcycle without a license, you’ll be facing certain penalties. In Florida, driving without a license leads to the following:
- Fines of up to $500
- Up to 6 months of probation
- Up to 60 days in the county jail
If you get into a motorcycle accident, the cops will come to the scene. You have to call them, even if you’re afraid of getting in trouble. Your motorcycle accident attorney in Boynton Beach will need the police report to prove your case.
When the cops come, they will ask to see your motorcycle license. If you don’t have it, they will know. They’ll write you a ticket for driving without a license. They will also make a note of this on the police report. When the defendant sees this, he’ll argue that you were at fault.
How Does Driving Without a License Hurt Your Case?
When the other driver’s lawyer sees you were caught driving without a license, he will use it to his advantage. He’ll claim that the accident was your fault. He may make some of the following arguments:
- You didn’t have a license because you didn’t know how to drive a motorcycle
- You were trying to evade the police at the time of the accident
- Also, you never learned how to drive a motorcycle
Even if he makes these claims, your Boynton Beach motorcycle accident attorney will work hard to prove your case. He’ll explain that your not having a license was an oversight – not the cause of your accident.
If this works, he should be able to get you the compensation you deserve.
Contact a Motorcycle Accident Lawyer in Boynton Beach, Florida
If you get hurt in a motorcycle accident, you should be entitled to damages. You need to call and speak with a motorcycle accident lawyer in Boynton Beach. He can review your case and let you know what it may be worth.
If you didn’t have your Florida motorcycle driver’s license at the time of the crash, let your attorney know. It will come up in your case. You’re better off if your lawyer knows the entire truth.